The Palazzo Gambacorti is a historic building in Pisa. It stands along the river Arno and now serves as the town hall of the city.
Palazzo Gambacorti Pisa
Address, opening hours and admission
The address is Lungarno Gambacorti, 1 – 56125 Pisa. The building is not accessible to tourists.
History and description
The Palazzo Gambacorti began its existence in the 11th century as a so-called casatorre (“tower house”). The tower is now incorporated in the southern part of the current palace.
Between the 13th and 14th centuries, a loggia for merchants was opened on the west side of the building. It was rented out to Catalans and Florentines in the 15th century.
Restorations in the 17th century ensured that only the division of the ground floor, indicated by three arches, can be seen. These arches corresponded to naves covered by cross vaults, which are visible from the Via Toselli.
Around 1380 the Gambacorti family had a new building added to the structure. This part can be seen on the river side, near the Ponte di Mezzo.
The latter building had a square floor plan and is unique in the sense that it is the only building in Pisa made with different types of materials of different colors.
A 16th-century drawing shows that the Palazzo Gambacorti used to have another floor, characterized by small windows and blind arches.
Nowadays the Sala delle Baleari is used for municipal council meetings.